Kiran just before the UKCAT! An international incident!

Leave a comment

September 27, 2012 by Emedica

My UKCAT was booked for Wednesday 19th September, I had planned all my last minute practice materials for the Monday and Tuesday. I find that I peak better late in the process.

However, on Monday evening, I happened to be checking my phone (luckily!), and came across an email which said I had to reschedule my UKCAT from Wednesday. I was given a number to call. I relentlessly tried, but could not get through. On the Tuesday morning, I was feeling a bit stressed as I was unsure when I was going to be sitting the UKCAT. I managed to track down Pearson Vue in Malaysia, and after 5 hours of calls, and diplomatic discussion (**arguing) I was told that I would have to sit the UKCAT in Wellington! Wellington is 10 hours away from where I live in New Zealand so you can imagine how I was feeling. I didn’t give up, and managed to get the test rescheduled for Friday 21st September. Now it was just getting back into the UKCAT positive mind frame

With my test at 11.30am, I had to leave my house around 8.00am to get to the place. It was actually in a small room, which was part of a computer learning institution.  This was their first ever Pearson Vue test and I was their first candidate. Luckily, the lady at reception had a warm and friendly personality so I wasn’t feeling as nervous as I could have been.

Although I like that UKCAT is a very quick feedback test in that you get your results immediately after, it also adds to the nerves. After going through my personal details and signing a form, I was ready to go. I knew that I had done as much preparation as possible, and with the UKCATprep.com as well as the tests on the UKCAT website, I was aware of the test format and what to expect. With Quantitative reasoning being the second section, I just couldn’t wait for that part to be over.

Leave a comment